The Board of Trustees

The Board of Trustees decides on all fundamental questions that are part of the remit of the EVZ Foundation, in particular on the determination of the budget. It establishes guidelines for the use of funds. The Board of Trustees is international. The 27 members are for four years sent by e.g. the German Bundestag and Bundesrat, the German economy and the states and organizations involved in the former international negotiations. The Chair of the Board of Trustees and her deputy are appointed by the Federal Chancellor.


OrganisationMember of the Board of TrusteesDeputy
ChairAnnette Schavan, Federal Minister ret.Dr. Jörg Freiherr Frank von Fürstenwerth
Foundation initiativeDr. Jörg Freiherr Frank von FürstenwerthDr. Dirk Förterer
Foundation initiativeChristoph KübelDr. Helen Müller
Foundation initiativeThomas WesselAndreas Klugescheid
Foundation initiativeProf. Dr. Susanne Sophia SpiliotisN.N. 
Bundestag (CDU/CSU)MdB Karin Maag (MdB – Member of the German Bundestag)MdB Martin Patzelt (MdB – Member of the German Bundestag)
Bundestag (CDU/CSU)PStS Stephan Mayer (Parliamentary State Secretary)MdB Andrea Lindholz (MdB – Member of the German Bundestag)
Bundestag (SPD)MdB Dietmar Nietan (MdB – Member of the German Bundestag)MdB Marianne Schieder (MdB – Member of the German Bundestag)
Bundestag (FDP)MdB Renata Alt (MdB – Member of the German Bundestag)MdB Ulla Ihnen (MdB – Member of the German Bundestag)
BundesratStM Lucia Puttrich (Minister of State)StS Dr. Mark Speich (State Secretary)
BundesratStS Sawsan Chebli (State Secretary)Minister Birgit Honé
Federal Ministry of Finance (BMF)MDgin Petra von WickRdn Barbara Busch
Federal Foreign OfficeMD Dr. Andreas Görgen (MD - Director General)Ambassador Michaela Küchler
Jewish Claims Conference (JCC)Greg SchneiderRuediger Mahlo
Sinti and Roma**Jonathan MackSophie Voets-Hahne
IsraelArie ZuckermanDr. LL.M. Avraham Weber
USACherrie S. DanielsGenevieve Libonati
Russian FederationVladimir P. LukinOleg J. Krasnizkij
UkraineAnton DrobovychAmbassador Dr. Andrij Melnyk
BelarusDr. Wladimir Adamuschko †Angelika Anoschko
Czech RepublicEmbassador Dr Jiři ŠitlerDr. Tomáš Jelínek
Plaintiff's Attorney USAMonica DugotChristiane Reeh
UNHCRKatharina LumppDr. Roland Bank
International Organization for Migration (IOM)N.N.N.N.
Bundesverband für NS-Verfolgte (Federal Association of NS Persecutees)Dr. Jost RebentischSvetlana Fourer

* updated 02.02.2021

** These staff functions will be carried out namely as of 15 November 2016.

We were saddened by the news of the death of Mr. Vladimir Ivanovic Adamushko. Since the establishment of the EVZ Foundation in 2000 he was a member of the Board of Trustees of the Foundation as a representative of the Republic of Belarus.

The members of the board of trustees and the staff of the foundation appreciated him for his friendly and affectionate manner, but also for his expertise. As a historian and archivist, in his function as the chairman of the Committee on Archive and Record Management (2002 - 2006) and through his own publications, he has made a great contribution to the reappraisal of the events of the Second World War on the territory of Belarus. He was an esteemed advisor to the colleagues who were involved in the payments to former forced laborers. 

Mr. Adamushko was involved in the establishment of the Belarusian Republican Foundation "Understanding and Reconciliation", which, as a partner organization of the EVZ Foundation, has been making payments to former NS forced laborers and other NS victims in Belarus and Estonia since 2001. With his commitment to the former victims of the Nazi regime, he has also contributed to reconciliation between Belarus and Germany. With him we lose a friend and companion. 

We mourn and our thoughts are with his relatives, friends and colleagues.

Annette Schavan, Chair of the Board of Trustees

Meeting of the Board of Trustees

Annette Schavan, Andrea Despot, Petra Follmar-Otto, Jörg Freiherr Frank von Fürstenwerth
© Sophie Ziegler/Stiftung EVZ
© Raum11/Amélie Losier


Chair Annette Schavan

Monika Bertele, Secretary to the chair

Tel +49 (0)30 25 92 97-80